ECCU 400

4- Treaties and Me

kihci-asotamâtowin; miyo-wîcêhtowin 

This week we discussed Treaties and the differing worldviews that at times cloud the meaning and intent. I was asked to share how I live/teach in the spirit and intent of Treaties. Audrey brought up the point that just saying,”I live on Treaty 4 land, We are all treaty people”, is not good enough. I have always felt the pressure to add “Treaty 4 Land” on my tagline, but I have never been fully comfortable with it. I have never felt comfortable with it because it is such a personal and deep statement, and by me not knowing much about it, I feel like I do a huge injustice. I absolutely need to learn more about Treaty in a deeper level before I even attempt sharing the surface level. With that said, I do involve as much as I know about Treaty and ways of knowing in my teaching practices every day. I tried so in a meaningful way, but always wonder what it looks like from another perspective. During Treaty Ed Camp, Claire Kreuger shared that as long as you’re trying, that is the first and most important thing. If you keep trying and keep learning, using that growth mindset, you can only improve. Going to these valuable professional development days is a step in the right direction.

Although I am working towards learning about Treaty and how it fits with me, does not mean I do not support it. I fully support it. I applaud educators that identify with this and are strong social activists.  It is a goal of mine to understand this knowledge and share it. A point Chelsea Vowel made in Indigenous Writes about the signing of treaties is, “Indigenous peoples have to do this on paper sometimes because that is what is required to survive.” (Vowel, pg. 258). I read this with a lump in my throat and a weight in my stomach. THIS. This is why it is important to teach Treaty. Infuse it in the classroom setting, share the knowledge you have and be an advocate. Signing treaties to survive may have been essential for survival, but children should not have to feel underrepresented to survive in your own classroom. All children bring something to the classroom. And they all should be celebrated.

Leave a comment